Chasing super mom…

March 28, 2011 at 10:35 pm 2 comments

Just because I have 5 kids does not make me a super mom.

Just because I drive a mini van does not make me a super mom.

Just because I have a home management book does not mean I’m a super mom.

 

I am far from it. I don’t pretend to know it all. I just know what I know and I learn from my experiences. Lately I’ve been getting lots of experiences.

My oldest son is 2 and a half years old. For the most part of the past year he has been a whirl wind of crazy. Nothing is too high for him to climb and nothing is safe from being thrown on the ground. Many tears have been shed trying to figure out what to do around here to keep some order. My son has the sweetest smile and gorgeous blonde curly hair. Don’t let him fool you.  He is a tiny loveable decluttering disaster! When I feel like I have too much and I need to declutter he is the first one to break something so I have something to get rid of.

Sometimes I wish I was supermom. I wish I could just be let go of the household chores and just enjoy my little tornado. But I can’t. I wish I had a cape that would allow me to just shake it and poof my house is clean and dinner is made.

But I am not supermom.

I have bad days. My kids have bad days. Sometimes you’ll call me or see me out in public and we are having bad days. Shoot you might catch me on a day when I haven’t showered and might even be wearing the same comfy clothes from the day before. And that’s okay. Next time you see or call me I might be clean and using my nice voice all day long. I’m allowed to have “dirty Mondays” (no cleaning no showering just fun days!) or “dirty Fridays” or “dirty first week of March.” And that’s okay. You are allowed to have them too. Just don’t give me the stink eye when I’m having one. Or my children has one. I promise I won’t give you the stink eye. And I won’t even make a comment about you having your hands full because I know your hands are full but your heart is even fuller.

Not every day is a perfect day. But every day is a gift from God. He gives us 24 hours a day to get done what needs to be done. Then He does that again the next day. By the end of the week He even gives us a rest day.

I may never be a super mom but I can become a better mom with every parenting choice I make.

Tomorrow is another day to enjoy my precious children. Tomorrow is another day to get the chores done.

Tonight I choose to be super mom. I choose to get my rest so I can be on top of my game tomorrow.

Super moms most certainly sleep because regular moms sure don’t.

\

Entry filed under: motherhood.

Chasing home management… Chasing praise…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shannon  |  March 29, 2011 at 9:04 am

    I think we as moms always think we need to be supermoms. I know I felt so much better when I let that go and realize I am the best mom I can be. I bring a lot to my kids and even though I cannot cook or do crafts I can do other things 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Michelle  |  March 30, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    I’m having a “wearing the same comfy clothes as yesterday” day. This is really embarassing, but I even slept in the tops, because it’s stinkin’ cold and I didn’t feel like taking my clothes off. Thus, the pajama pants post earlier. You are amazing! You have 5 kids! God has surely blessed you. : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


