Chasing home management…

March 15, 2011 at 12:24 am Leave a comment

I love taking care of my home. It’s my little safe place in the world that I get to decorate all for myself. However with 5 kids under 9 (my oldest is now 8 and my youngest is 7 months), it’s only really clean between 11 PM and 7 AM- most of the time.  I’ve been desperately trying to get a handle on my home management now that I’m working 8 hours a week. I know it doesn’t sound like a lot but working 2 half days has really taken a toll on my house in addition to all of the recent activities of my family.  I feel like I’m always 2 days behind in everything. I really really dislike feeling out of control.  So I decided to start making my own home management notebook.

What? Not everyone has a home management notebook? Shocking stuff I know! Some times I think most people live like an episode of Hoarders or Clean House (which is what I watch when I feel out of control and then I realize a few toys on the ground isn’t so bad). Our basement recently flooded so I’m taking that as God’s way of saying declutter!

Recently most of my home management inspiration has come from Large Family Logistics and most recently Time Warp Wife. I love both blogs so much! They have reminded me so much about how home management is such a lost art. Martha Stewart made it cool again to be so involved in the home and to make things from scratch. Being more involved in my home doesn’t mean I’m going to spend every day on my hands and knees scrubbing everything. It means I’m going to take pride in my home and my family to give them the best that I can.

Okay so that doesn’t mean I was a slacker before. Sure my house has been known to look like Toys R Us exploded in my living room and you could probably eat off of my floor because there was a whole bag of pretzels on it at one time. Taking pride in my home and family means I’m going to take a conscious effort to improve my homemaker skills. Every day I’m going to work a little bit harder at scrubbing the crayon off the walls. I’m going to plan out how I want each room to look. I’m going to declutter and give away what I can so that it can make someone else happy instead of bringing me stress.

So starting tomorrow I’m going to wake up with a smile on my face and I’m going to be grateful for the opportunity to make my home special. I’m going to wake up to a sparkly bathroom that I just scrubbed down from top to bottom (the bathroom should always sparkle because people who use your bathroom have the time to look at how well you clean while they are busy using your bathroom!). After my work meeting I’m going to focus on my kitchen as it is the heart of our home. I will then work on finding the balance of family, faith, and home.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Chasing a clean laundry room… Chasing super mom…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


