Chasing a fresh start…

February 4, 2011 at 12:45 am 1 comment

Yes I know it has been a very long time since I’ve blogged. I have been a bad blogger. Life has gotten in the way! Raising 5 crazy kids takes some time and effort. Our computer was way too slow for my fingers and I’d type and wait a minute to see if I spelled everything correctly! Now I’m typing feverishly from my daughter’s laptop.

2011 is going to be a great year! I can feel it. I’m becoming more at ease with being the mom of 5. You would not believe how much more laundry a little one can create or how fast your house can get turned upside down when you are nursing a baby! It’s a crazy life but things are now starting to fall into place.  I just started reading Large Family Logistics and it has helped me to add more joy to my daily housework. Yes I said it. Joy and housework together.

Smiling while you are cleaning has been a huge uplifting change for me. I think about how blessed I am to have all of the modern conveniences to make my house clean.  I also think about how blessed I am to have a house to call a home. We have lived in our home for almost 10 years. There is crayon on the walls and toys everywhere but I can’t imagine life without either one! The kids have also been learning how to clean and keep tidy. I want them to have pride and ownership of their home and possessions so teach hing them how to clean does that for them. Cleaning has been best taught in this house by example. I show them what to do and then help them to be successful at the chore. Who doesn’t want kids who like to make their beds or wipe down the baseboards?

I’ve also been taking each part of the house and devoting my day towards it. It doesn’t mean that I’m ignoring the rest of the house but that I’m focused on cleaning and decluttering on one area. That has helped me to stay focused on one project at a time that I can accomplish. Don’t you hate when you are organizing and in the middle of it everything is all over the place? Well giving myself some daily focus has helped me to accomplish something even if I have all of the kids home or if Jason is not napping that afternoon.

So here I am writing again and smiling as I think forward to 2011 and all of the exciting and new things I will learn, experience, and write about.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Chasing rules to run a home… Chasing a clean laundry room…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Michelle  |  February 4, 2011 at 8:36 am

    Welcome back!! Looking forward to reading. You are the one who inspired me to start blogging! Glad everything is falling into place for you. I only have 2 kids and have a hard time keeping up with the housework!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


