Chasing Martha August 1-3…

August 3, 2010 at 6:06 pm 2 comments

Hooray for August! Yes my due date has come and gone. Nope I”m not feeling anything. Such as life. I’m sure things are going to get crazy in a hurry so I am working on being patient.  It’s not as easy as it seems when you have 4 little crazy kids to chase after! However I’ve gotten a lot accomplished in the past few days as well as some unexpected things (cleaning up eggs off the floor again!).

On Sunday I made the Pioneer Woman’s Chicken Fried Steak and Mashed Potatoes. OMG it was so simple and amazing! The steak cooked up beautifully and had a delicious crust. The potatoes were smooth and creamy. The kids and my husband ate it all up without talking in between bites. Then it was on to the blueberry cobbler. DROOL! It was just divine. I cannot wait to make something any from her cook book.

Now on to my Martha challenge.

On Sunday I decided that my beautiful yellow pots and pans were not looking so beautiful. There was an ugly black crust on them. Sad I know. I just could never figure out how to clean them properly. I didn’t want to scratch them or scrub the yellow off. So off to http://www.marthastewart.com I went to find a tip on how to do it. And of course Martha came to my rescue. With just some water, vinegar, and baking soda I scrubbed those pots to their beautiful yellow glow. I left my dutch oven on the stove and every time I walked by it I just smiled from ear to ear. A simple pleasure but so worth it.  It made me want to cook another dinner!

Monday brought about sadness as it was my due date and anger as I have been drying out my cell phone for 2 days now. Sigh. One day I hope that I can go to the bathroom for 3 minutes without wondering what I will have to clean up from Tropical Storm Baby Jason. But Monday in my house is bathroom cleaning day. Cue the applause. So I searched Martha for a tip on getting the tub sparkling clean. Wouldn’t you know it but there was a whole section about cleaning the bathroom. Hooray!

The power of baking soda showed me that I could get my tub clean with just a little baking soda and some blue Dawn. Always use the blue Dawn- it’s the best and you don’t need to get fancy. It was so simple and it worked beautifully. When I go into the bathroom I can stare at the tub and just marvel in glossy shine of the tub. It’s funny because I have a few different bathroom cleaners and nothing got my tub as clean as the baking soda.

So today’s Martha tip was simple but easy to try out. Line drying your clothes!  Now me, I like to line dry my diapers. Sunning them gets the stains out and makes them smell so good. Now it’s so easy to do and the key is to wash them early and then let them dry until noonish. If you dry them too late in the day they get crunchy. Not a good feeling on your behind if it’s a towel.

So yea! 3 days in and I”m becoming a domestic diva like Martha. Who knew? Tomorrow is most definitely a cooking day. I can’t wait to find something good to make!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Chasing an August Martha… Chasing a baby boy…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jennifer  |  August 11, 2010 at 11:41 pm

    I recently found out the wonders of baking soda, but have yet to try it. What kind of bath tub do you have? Do you think it depends on the kind, whether or not it will work? I’m a comet user currently….but my gosh the smell is awful and then with kids now….I have to rinse it with steaming hot water, then use dish soap to scrub away the comet that may have been left behind. Gah!

    Reply
    • 2. chasingblue  |  August 12, 2010 at 12:08 am

      I have no idea what kind of tub I have other than we bought it at the Home Depot. LOL
      It’s not an abrasive scrub. It’s gentle and just seems to work well for us. It got the soap scum and the water spots off of the tub. It’s the same mix I used on my Rachel Ray pans and they look so beautiful now.

      I hope it works for you! I would be so unhappy if I had to wash my tub twice like you do!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


