Chasing the heart of the home…

July 6, 2010 at 3:36 pm Leave a comment

The heart of my home is definitely the kitchen. I probably spend a few hours in there every day. From cooking to cleaning to working on school stuff with the girls, we do it in the kitchen. When I first got married 9 years ago, I didn’t know anything about cooking. My mom is a good cook but she doesn’t write anything down. Nothing from her kitchen is consistent. My dad was a meat and potatoes kind of guy so she never made anything adventurous. I really only remember eating corn, cheese covered broccoli and cauliflower, and potatoes for veggies.

As a mom, I feel this incredibly amount of guilt when I don’t offer a vegetable at every meal. In the past month the kids have only eaten not from my kitchen a few times: pizza from a pizza place once, a meal at a buffet with the grandparents, and nachos from Taco Bell (I had a coupon for a free drink. Limeades yummy). Every other meal or snack was eaten from my kitchen. That is a great feeling.

Eating from the heart of my home means I know what is going into their little growing bodies. I’m making the decisions and most of the food is from scratch. I do have some processed stand bys but that’s for those days when I remember I’m pregnant and I need to rest.

For the remainder of summer I’m going to challenge myself to do something new in the kitchen. I recently started freezer cooking! It’s been a huge blessing because I’ve been able to just pull something from my freezer and make dinner with little prep work! Thank you to Life as Mom for showing me the way! Freezer cooking is leading the way for me to try something new every week in my kitchen. From using a fancy recipe to trying out a new food. We are going to make summer special in the kitchen.

How do you think you are in the kitchen? Who taught you how to cook?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Chasing open letters… Chasing an August Martha…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


