Chasing recipes…

April 8, 2010 at 11:49 pm 3 comments

This week I felt that I should really embrace this homemaker stuff some more and I need to get back to basics. Truth is, the cost of everything is going up and the paychecks are not. So this week I challenged myself to cook more from scratch. I have the internet at my fingertips so why not try out some recipes, right?

I made some delish simple bread from The Fresh Loaf and you know what? My kids LOVED it! It was so easy to make and it was quite fun punching it down a few times.

Then I found an awesome but simple banana bread recipe to use up some of my bargain bananas. Another hit with the kids!

Then I attempted to make yogurt in my crock pot. Hannah Montana say what? Yes in my crock pot.  I found the recipe on this awesome blog that did 365 days of crock potting! It is called A Year of Slow Cooking. And yes you can make yogurt in your crock pot. I even strained it to make some delicious Greek yogurt. Genius! It will take a little tweaking to get the kids to get used to yogurt without sugar but darn it- it’s worth it.

Clean Eating Magazine is my favorite food magazine. All of the recipes are simple and easy to make. But most importantly, they use healthy foods and it always always tastes amazing.  I decided to try out all of the fast family meals. So far the avocado cream sauce for the steak tacos was to die for! It was so vibrant green and tasted like a smooth guacamole on the tacos. I loved it!  The dirty rice was a pretty big hit with my 20 month old as well.

I feel like I am so lucky to have all of these great recipes at my fingertips! My mother is a great cook but she doesn’t go by any recipes. It’s all about how she’s feeling that day and what’s in the kitchen. My grandmother- well she can cook a few things but it’s all weird stuff that my kids and husband would throw at me if I served it.

I think the internet can be a girl’s best friend in the kitchen. Now if I could only get my husband to move the computer to the kitchen my life would be so much easier.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Chasing coffee cups… Chasing OM…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. connieweiss  |  April 12, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    All of those sounds great! Can you buy that clean eating magazine in the stores? I want to try that Avocado cream sauce!

    Reply
    • 2. chasingblue  |  April 12, 2010 at 8:06 pm

      I’ve been able to find it at my grocery store. It’s a little pricey but so worth it!

      The avocado sauce was basically an avocado and a small container of greek yogurt all whipped together with some herbs. Easy and delish!

      Reply
  • 3. connieweiss  |  April 12, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    I’m on their website right now…printing off recipes! What a great find..THANKS!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


