Chasing dragons…

March 29, 2010 at 12:40 am Leave a comment

Last night I did the ultimate awesome crazy thing. I took 4 children to see How to Train Your Dragon by myself. Not only did I survive but I had a great time! It was very scary to think about going alone. I didn’t panic though. I gave the kids the rules before we left and I made it clear that we would leave the first time any of the rules were broken.

So here’s how it went down.

We left the house around 9:15PM.  Yes it was late but the kids have spring break this week and it was a huge surprise to them that we were going. originally the plan was for Jason to stay home with Daddy Blue but he was not having that so we rolled with the punches and he got to come along. We pulled up to the theater and unloaded with Jason in the stroller. An older woman stopped me to ask me if the kids were going to the show this late. Really , it’s not like I was taking them to the bar for Pete’s sake. I told her they took a nap and it was a special event. It really was because I can’t remember the last time I was out after 9pm on a Sunday – or really any day of the week for that matter.

We got our snacks and walked down to the theater. Everyone was still awake. Somehow we were the only ones in the theater. Yippee! If they did get a little bit crazy no one else would see it. We watched some previews and munched on some popcorn. Jason enjoyed about 30 minutes of the movie before he finally fell asleep. I think it was the amazing quantity of popcorn at his little grubby fingertips that kept him awake. Then about 20 minutes later Steph was out. So at that point I was able to sit back and watch the movie with the older girls while trying to figure out how the heck I was going to get out of the theater when the movie was over.

How to Train Your Dragon was a really great movie. I’m glad we didn’t see it in 3D because I’m sure someone would have peed her pants. The girls loved all of the ways Hiccup (the main character) learned about how to train the dragon. He used his brain instead of his brawn (which was actually kind of scrawny for a viking).  It was great to see a character for children use his talents to be successful. Hiccup never tried to be anyone other than himself and that lead him to a great victory. The message of the movie was very positive and we cheered for Hiccup and his friends as they changed the way of life for their viking village. I love the fact that Toothless the dragon was modeled after Stitch from Lilo and Stitch. He made me almost want my own dragon!

So now we are at home. Everyone is snuggled up in bed. Hopefully dreaming away about what they are going to do tomorrow. Dreaming about how they can learn how to train a dragon, or a dog, or a sister, or a little brother.

Movie night was a success. Not only did the kids have a great time but I got some confidence in myself. If we can get through a movie than maybe one day soon we can get through a church service without having to leave a couple of time.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Chasing my Friday five… Chasing spring break…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


