Chasing boys…

March 24, 2010 at 10:35 pm 1 comment

Today was another exciting day in the Blue household.  As the girls were getting ready for school Jason tried to get into his normal position for watching the school bus- over the couch and in the bay window. However today the neighbor girl was in the window sitting. From there I’m not totally sure what happened because I was in the kitchen cleaning up.

In Jason’s attempt to get over the couch into his yellow bus watching stop, he hurt his arm. Now Jason is a very active boy. He is constantly knocking his noggin into everything and falling because he’s running too fast and forgets to watch his steps.  Normally a kiss and some snuggle time with momma gets him feeling better but today an hour of crying and snuggling with momma was not enough.

We switched insurances in November and we haven’t had a need to meet or see the pediatrician until today. So I call the office and they were CLOSED. I was freaking out. Before my insurance would just book us an appointment with another doctor. No big deal This time I didn’t have that option so I called an advice nurse. She suggested going to the ER.

After getting all of the other Blue kiddos in order we found ourselves in the ER. My mom met us up there since I couldn’t take Jason into X-Ray. Now while in X-Ray, they moved his arm and he screamed bloody murder. (Luckily I missed this or I would have burst into tears myself.) They actually popped his bone back into socket.

One X-Ray and 3 suckers later Jason is back.

We spent the rest of our time in the ER eating dum dum suckers and drinking ginger ale. He smiled and giggled at everyone who came to talk to him. He’s such a little ham even when he’s in the ER.  Doctors orders were for Jason to take it easy for a week.  Which he promptly ignored when we got home and he attacked the dog and chased the cat.

All I kept on thinking to myself today is that I don’t know if I have enough energy for 2 little boys! Jason is an amazing little guy but he is seriously hard core. Everything with him is done at 100% effort. He never backs down and always goes balls to the wall. When we were in the ER I kept on thinking about how often I’m going to be there with 2 little boys.

Everyone I’ve talked to with boys has told me to expect days like today. I was upset that my little guy was hurt but I wasn’t worried. I knew this would just prepare me for the future with sports accidents and silly boy behavior.  I hope I can handle it.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Chasing a semi homemade day… Chasing good enough…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kim - In Search of Me in Mommy  |  March 25, 2010 at 9:27 am

    Dang, woman, if you can handle 4 young ones…one more – even a boy – you can certainly do it! Glad he’s better!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


