Chasing a semi homemade day…

March 23, 2010 at 12:16 am Leave a comment

Today started off kind of yucky. Paige was feeling sick. The poor thing was up all night coughing. When she woke up this morning she was full of energy for about 45 minutes before she crashed into a morning nap.   We were supposed to go to the store with my mom to be chocolate to make chocolate mustache suckers for the Easter party at school but my mom was also sick. Such as life- I scrubbed the bathroom and the living room floor instead.

I can’t tell you enough how much I love my little spray bottle to clean the floor. It’s easy to mix (hot water and 1 tbl tide) and it cleans the floor easily.  It’s cheaper than any other cleaner and does an awesome job on the floors to the doors!

In the afternoon once Steph was home from preschool, Paige and I decided we needed cinnamon rolls. I mean seriously who doesn’t need them at 2pm?  I didn’t have any cans of them in the fridge which was okay because I wanted real cinnamon rolls. But I didn’t want to make dough. So what’s a creative and hungry momma like me to do? Use something you already have!

Last week we had a PTA outing to Trader Joe’s. I picked up some pizza dough for those days when I want pizza but don’t have the money to order one or the time to make some dough. PERFECT! So I rolls out the dough and lathered it in butter. Then Steph and I worked some brown sugar, sugar, and cinnamon into the butter and dough. After cutting it and baking it at 350 for about 15 minutes we had the most awesome cinnamon rolls ever. I thought about taking a picture of them but by that time all I had were sticky gooey fingers and a dirty pan. Ooops!

I have to tell you as much of a baking snob that I can be I fell in love with this idea. It was simple, quick, and delish. Sure they weren’t healthy but they were semi homemade. They weren’t processed with chemicals but with love.

Last night I watched Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution and I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw the foods these kids were eating at school and at home!

It made me think about how I feed my family. I’m really a homemade challenge coming up.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Chasing the dust pan… Chasing boys…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


