Chasing the dust pan…

March 21, 2010 at 12:59 pm 1 comment

I am very lucky to have a 19 month old that likes to use the dust pan as much as he likes to eat. πŸ˜€ Just about every time I open up the closet door to get the broom and dust pan he just growls and grunts at me until he gets it. He has not perfected his skills in getting the dust in the pan but you have to give him an A for effort because he certainly does try to.

My house is not perfect. It is most definitely a house full of children. One can tell this by the kisses on the windows, crayon drawings on the walls, the Cheerios on the floor, and the giggles that emerge from every corner. It is most definitely a happy house. Contrary to popular belief I clean quite a bit but truthfully no part of my house would impress Martha Stewart. Even though I’d hate to admit it- that’s okay with me.

I try to do certain chores on certain days just so I can have a focus in my chaotic world. If they don’t get done that day it doesn’t mean I just forget about them until the following week. They just get pushed to the next day. The only day I try to not worry about anything is on Sundays. Sundays are the only day that we are all home all day with each other. I’d rather walk through piles of clothes than miss a day at the park with the family.

Here is a basic list of my daily routines for anyone who is trying to figure out how to find balance in their choreful cheerful time as a homemaker.

Monday-

Clean bathroom- includes sink, toilet, and tub

Clean kitchen floors and bedroom/living room (I alternate bedroom and living room floors each week.)

Clean kitchen sink, microwave, cupboards, and table

1-2 loads of laundry (wash, dry, fold, put away)
Tuesday-

Clean out fridge (tomorrow is garbage day and we have shopping to do!)

Grocery Shop! (This is my big morning activity- between clipping coupons and comparing coupons to the ad and the actually shopping it takes about 2.5 hours)

1-2 loads of laundry (wash, dry, fold, put away)

Sweep whole house


Wednesday

Wash sink and toilet

Clean all windows and tvs

Clean up kids’ toy room

1-2 loads of laundry (wash, dry, fold, put away)

Thursday-

Clean bedrooms- dust fans, put away toys, organize dressers

1-2 loads of laundry (wash, dry, fold, put away)

Finish up any random cleaning projects I’ve started

Friday-

Change all bed sheets and pillow cases

Change towels in bathroom

Work on something outside if weather permits

1-2 loads of laundry (wash, dry, fold, put away)

Saturday-

Finish up any outstanding jobs to be done

Declutter!

Now this not just what I do to keep my house in order but to help me keep things running smoothly. If I miss one day of laundry it can cause my husband or children not to have clothes for work or school. Even though we all have plenty of clothes we all tend to wear the same stuff over and over again.

I also like giving each room a little love every day so my house is never more than 15 minutes away from being company ready. Luckily for me, the Queen of England doesn’t stop by often so I don’t have to have it Queen perfect. Just good friends clean.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Chasing full tummies… Chasing a semi homemade day…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kim - In Search of Me in Mommy  |  March 21, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    Very organized! Wow! I always forget about cleaning the fridge on trash day… you have a great system. and I love the “just good friend clean” πŸ™‚ Thanks for posting this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


