Chasing full tummies…

March 20, 2010 at 5:16 pm 3 comments

One of the things I’ve had the hardest time transitioning to as my family grows is making enough food for everything.  Lunch today required 2 cans of Tomato soup, half a loaf of bread, and more cheese than I can count. We started off the lunch with 1 can of soup and that was clearly not going to feed 4 little kids with appetites the size of Texas. I’m scared to think of what will come at dinner time.

I am constantly struggling with making enough food to make everyone happy. My kids go through cycles of what they like to eat and I never get the memo on which food is okay for which day. If we have leftovers, it’s because someone didn’t like it. Sometimes even if they don’t like it they will eat it all.

I can’t complain too much because my children love fruits and veggies. We never seem to have enough of them in the house (or ranch dressing or hummus to dip them in either). They crave PB&J and love tomato soup. But there just doesn’t ever seem to be enough!

This week my goal is to make enough- enough for dinner, enough for a snack, and enough for lunch! I really want to be one of those families that gets lots of meals out of one cooking session!  I want my husband to not give me the sad puppy dog face when he thinks he can’t fill his plate up with a main dish (he is not a veggie kind of guy- even on a diet).

This week my goal is a healthy, happy, and FULL family.


What’s yours?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Chasing candy… Chasing the dust pan…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alison Agnew  |  March 20, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    I saw your comment on the SITS site so I came over to take a peek. I can identify with your post as I have 4 little ones also. They eat a TON of food and I struggle to make the right amount. I either make too much of something they don’t like, or not enough of something they want much more of….sigh. One of these days we have to figure it out, right?

    Alison

    Reply
  • 2. Christy  |  April 11, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    I think you have to have psychic abilities to make the right amount of food for little people. Who knows when they will be in a growth spurt?? I try to err on the side of too much –leftovers can be eaten at another meal.

    Reply
    • 3. chasingblue  |  April 12, 2010 at 6:24 pm

      I so agree! Some days my kids are eating everything in sight and other days it’s like I’m forcing them to eat.

      I just need to figure out how to make more of everything. I wish for left overs sometimes when I’m just too tired to cook.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


