Chasing clean floors…

March 15, 2010 at 9:18 pm Leave a comment

Last night I could not sleep for anything. I tossed and turned all night while being repeatedly kicked by LB for laying on him. So when I woke up this morning I was less than energetic. Too bad too sad I had to go to work. Now I love my job more than words but the actual process of going to work is not my favorite. However I ease the pain by getting coffee and my 5 free munchkins.

In my infinite homemaker wisdom I decided to scrub the floors. Yes yes I do have a tendency to pick the most ridiculous projects on the days I go to work. One time I decided to rip all of the carpet out of the girls room on a work day. Not my smartest move but when I’ve got the energy I have to do it. I try to do specific chores on certain days so that each room gets some love and I can be 15 minutes away from company stopping by. We have hard word floors in every room in the house so this task takes some time and effort.

As beautiful as they can be, hardwood floors require some maintenance. My fave way to clean them is with a scrub brush and a spray bottle of hot water and 1 tablespoon of Tide. I sweep first then scrub a scrub scrub until shiny.  I really think the extra effort of scrubbing the floor once a week shows. Now because my living room is unfinished I alternate the living room and the bedrooms but always do  the kitchen. The kitchen is where most of the crazy happens in my house.

After a good scrub and cleaning the bathroom from top to bottom it was time to wash the cupboards. I spray the fronts with the Tide/hot water combo and wash the fronts of them as well as the dishwasher and stove. It takes a few minutes but it’s worth the time and effort. The shine just makes everything pop in the sunshine.

What is your household routine like? What’s your favorite housecleaning tip?

I’m always on the hunt for ways to improve my domestic-ness!

Now for an update from the pantry:

Last night I successfully used about 5 things from my pantry over the course of the day. I also used up some freezer items.  Dinner was super simple and awesome. I grilled up a few cheap steaks on my grill pan and served it with gravy over a bag of No Yoke Noodles. You know what the best part was? I got the noodles FOR FREE. Yes free! So it made the whole dinner with a salad for less than $10. You can’t beat that! Plus we had vanilla pudding with chocolate chips for dessert.

Tuesday is grocery shopping day so check back tomorrow to see if I stayed under my budget of $35 and how I do what I do at the grocery store to save money.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Chasing pantry dinners… Chasing candy…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


