Chasing green…

March 13, 2010 at 4:28 pm Leave a comment

Today I had to take the kids with me to buy a present for a birthday party.  We had a budget of $10. We were able to get a Barbie, crayons, and a coloring book. Now I planned on buying something for the kids while we were out shopping and they each had a budget of $3. Not a lot of money but enough to get them a small something. I like giving them a budget because it makes them more conscious of their purchases.

Now my kids know that you don’t buy anything without a coupon and it has to be on sale.  This is especially true at the grocery store where I’m at for at least 1-2 hours a week.  Baby J and Paige are my normal shopping buddies and they know what to do.

We normally shop on Tuesdays in the morning when the shelves as stocked. This is also a great day because we have had a chance to make a menu for the week as well as go through the ad and get our coupons ready. I never leave home without my coupon binder though! You never know when you might come across an unadvertised sale.  I might look silly but when I’m saving $50 a week on groceries I don’t care!

Our food budget is about $400 a month and that includes all random food purchases.  Some months we are over and some we are under. But I always

I’ve done a lot of work to keep our other expenses as low as they can go. Sometimes it involves a bit of time on the phone getting the lowest price and other times just being frugal.  This week I plan giving you some of the tips I’ve learned over the last 5 years to help save you some green!

Tomorrow will give you a look into my pantry for this weeks pantry challenge!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Chasing perfect days Chasing pantry dinners…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


