Make it work Wednesday- friends and fitness

November 19, 2009 at 1:35 am Leave a comment

Today was just one of those days. I knew I had to run for one hour. I was looking forward to it. I was also looking forward to Free Pie Wednesday with my PTA friends. The morning was such a blur. I honestly can not remember anything that we did! After picking up Ryan and taking him to school with Paige, Jason, Steph, and I came home for lunch and a few rounds of musical napping. They took turns laying in bed and nursing until finally they both took a nap.

 

However the nap was too late in the day. By the time I’d hop on the treadmill Paige would be home and shortly after Julia would be home. We would eat dinner and go to conferences. I just told myself that no matter what I was not missing my workout! Too often I chose everyone else over myself but tonight I was desperate for me time.

Conferences went great! We talked with the teachers for about an hour and many of my concerns were addressed. I was so relived to hear that Paige was not using potty words at school. We came home, took showers, and watched some Heroes before I left for pie! I was running late as usual (in my defense I did tell them I’d be running late but for normal every day life I give myself 5 minutes per child on the lateness watch).

I ordered some coffee and my free triple berry pie.

Yes, they do have Free Pie on Wednesday.

Note to future self- get the nutritional stats of pie before you order! It was tasty but not nearly 400 calories of tasty! I had only planned on staying until 9 pm. Ooopps! At 10 pm we all rolled out. I came home to find almost everyone sleeping.

 

I was beat from the day but a little jittery from the coffee. So I cleaned up the house and hit the treadmill. I caught up on Nip/Tuck (I’m not sure how I feel about this season yet!) and got my hour on the treadmill done.

Honestly, I just wanted to hop into bed when I got home but I made the committment to myself. I could have just plopped on the couch all mopey from the calorie free filled pie but I didn’t! I made it work!  I watched some sleazy t.v. and worked out.

Sure I’m going to go to bed smelling not so pretty but I’m going to bed knowing that I took out time for me. Giving me that little bit of momME time is good for everyone in this house. Even if I have to come home and clean.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Operation Chocolated Covered Kindness Chasing pumpkins…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


