Chasing time…

November 8, 2009 at 1:31 am 2 comments

This week was a productive week as a mom.

This week was not productive as a runner.

I’ve been saving that extra hour we got last Sunday to use at some point this week for myself. It hasn’t happened yet.

I can feel my whole self off balance from missing 2 runs. I’ve been so tired lately and the kids have been going to bed late on the nights that Michael is working. I feel so guilty running while they are awake. Maybe I should just move the treadmill to the living room. Then I could just run run run. But then I’d miss out on making cupcakes and having tea parties.

So am I disappointed? Sure but my kids do come first. It’s in my job description. And somedays I could have pushed them to do something so I could run but I was enjoying motherhood this week. Next week I can returned to being a serious runner.

I’ve been pumping the kids full of cupcakes this week… I mean this week they have been awesome taste testers as I’ve been creating a cupcake recipe for the Pillsbury Bake Off. Yes I’m a crazy nut of a housewife but I really really want to win!  My children have already spent any potential prize money. When we are baking, they start talking about all of the toys and vacations to Disney World we can have.

Today was an exceptionally mom-tastic day.

The other day at the Giant Eagle they have Cinderella pumpkins for $1! Really!?!?!? $1? Yes $1. So I said “what the heck! Let’s try it!” so we did tonight. We washed up the pumpkin, gutted it, roasted it, and then pureed it. It was easy peasy and created a ridiculous amount of pureed- about 8 cups worth! I have no plan for this puree so anyone with any awesome family friendly pumpkin-licous foods- send the recipes my way!

Then I saw on Oh She Glows that she was making MamaPea’s Pumpkin Spice Roasted Chickpeas and lo and behold I had chick peas cooking up in the crockpot! Divine intervention I tell you! So after I cleaned up my pumpkin and cupcake mess I made some cheapy hummus (chickpeas and some of Annie’s Goddess dressing) and some roasted chickpeas!

This week has been awful with my eating. I’ve been trying to create more foods which means I know what is going in them but at the same time- cupcakes are not healthy no matter where they come from. I need to sit down with myself and think about why I’m choosing to eat. Is it because I’m hungry? bored? angry? happy?

So my goals this week are to find more time and happiness for me. It might mean running everyday, crafting a bit more, listening to my body when it comes to needs/wants in the food department, or just laughing more.

What will you do this week to get back an hour of time or to use your time wisely?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Make it Work Wedesday! Chasing cake…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Eva Gallant  |  November 8, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    Goof luck with the Pillsbury Bakeoff! Hope you win.

    Just stopped by from SITS to say hi; hope yoou will do the same.

    Reply
  • 2. Jeanette  |  November 8, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    I think my pendulum has swung too far the other way and I need to get more stuff done. I know what you mean about not getting your workouts in though. Found you through SITS. Hope you have the week that your heart desires!
    Jeanette

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


