Chasing challenges…

November 2, 2009 at 12:53 am Leave a comment

I can’t believe it’s November already. Last year at this time we were planning out the family vacation to Disney World. In all seriousness NOTHING will ever top the magic of Disney at the holidays. From snow on Main Street in 80 degree weather to the icy blue hue of Cinderella’s castle at night to even the tropical fun of the Polynesian, Christmas in Ohio is not nearly as cool or exciting.

However I can at least attempt to re create some of that Disney magic at home. So instead of a Christmas tree, I’m challenging myself to create the perfect Polynesian Christmas in cold cold Ohio. Last year when we stayed at the Polynesian we saw Christmas Palm trees and l0ts of leis and flowers. We heard Elvis Christmas songs and ate Dole Whips every day. So sure we might not be able to swim on Christmas but we can still recreate that magic at home. I think the kids will be excited for this new twist on Christmas because it’s almost a year later and at least twice a day I hear a story that starts with “You know when we are at Disney…”

 

Also as life and money start to run away from me, I’ve decided to continue my quest for the perfect Pillsbury Bake Off recipe. The girls think it would be awesome if I won (and of course I promised them another Disney trip if we win) and have already started to imaginary spend the money. Okay I have too. So watch out Bake It Pretty ! You are my new favorite shopping spot and inspiration to continue my quest for the perfect cupcake.

While daydreaming on my treadmill tonight and thinking about my cupcakes (yes I dream about food on the treadmill- probably because I like to watch food network while I sweat!) I was thinking about how cool it would be to challenge myself to create a weekly post devoted to Making it Work. So viola! Make It Work Wednesdays (two snapped up and around town!) was born.

On Make It Work Wednesday I will challenge myself to create something useful from something I already have. It’s like I have Tim Gunn staring at my fridge, dresser, child, or craft project. he tells me that it’s not exactly what the judges (usually my husband or children) are looking for but it’s a great start. Right before I start to cry he tells me to “make it work.” And then by the magic of television I do! Okay maybe not the magic of television but the magic of Mommy Power makes it all happen.

This week will debut my newest challenge. I’m hoping it makes me either a better mother or a better wife or a better cook but most importantly a better version of me.

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Chasing choice… Chasing money…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


