Chasing choice…

October 28, 2009 at 10:20 pm 2 comments

Normally I had this huge routine that has to happen before I leave the house. I absolutely hate leaving toys and stuff on the ground. I can not pry myself out of the house until the floor is picked up. (Well that and I hate stuff on my counter!)  I feel like it’s one less thing I have to worry about when I get home from where ever.

Last week, I told my husband how important running was to me. For most of this year I didn’t want to admit how important it was to keeping me happy, healthy, and overall a good mom.  It keeps me balanced and less edgy but I hated giving up time from my family to run but I just couldn’t drag my butt out of bed in the early morning to do it. I would normally get all of my night-time chores done, be exhausted, and fight myself to get on the treadmill at 10pm. This was not good for me or my body- exercising too late makes me unable to sleep which causes me to drag the next day.

My husband worked later than usually last night. I figured I wasn’t going to get my workout in. My house was a semi disaster (really no more than 15 minutes away from company ready but still) and I just plopped on the couch to fold some socks. My husband came home and told me to go run.

For the first time in ages I took 5 minutes to get dressed and kiss everyone good-bye before I was out the door.  In the past I would have dilly dallied for 15 minutes getting the house ready to leave and them have to come home to it being crazy again.

Instead I chose me and ran for 1 wonderful sweaty hour.

I came home centered and happy to clean up real quick before a nice hot shower.  Balance was restored in my universe.

Now I may not always chose me but I know it’s okay to choose me sometimes. I don’t have to feel guilty about it either.

Will I ever give up a game of candyland for a run? Nope. But will I give up a clean floor just to get out and hit the pavement? Probably.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Beauty Tip of the Day Chasing challenges…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Janet L. Nowlin  |  October 31, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    Happy SITS sharefest! I like your writing style and the introspection you give to why you do what you do. Glad to hear you got in a run. Sometimes the way to being a better mother/friend/daugher/wife etc is in first tending to yourself. It’s just like they say on the airplanes–put the oxygen mask on yourself first, so you can be sure you’re putting it on your children correctly.

    Reply
  • 2. Stephanie  |  February 27, 2010 at 12:23 am

    Thanks so much for the inspiration to “ignore the floor and get out the door.” I need to do that more often. I always feel so good – so refreshed – so powerful…after a run. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


