Chasing motherhood…

September 21, 2009 at 9:31 am Leave a comment

Everyone oohing and aahing over the new baby brother!

Everyone oohing and aahing over the new baby brother!

I can remember wanting to be a mother since I was about 5 years old. I would pretend my room was an apartment and I was the mother of about 5 babies. I couldn’t leave my room without having a Barbie babysitter. I would try to make dinner with my Easy Bake oven and I would just play “grown up” for hours.

Even when I went to college and thought I was going to join the working world as a writer or a lawyer, I had in the back of my mind that I was going to be a stay at home mom. I went for my Masters of Education degree right after I got married thinking I would be a teacher for a while and then start a family.

As silly as it sounds we (okay me) decided to start our family after 9-11 happened. We were newly married and new home owners. Michael went to work that morning and I was at my parents house getting ready to go work on our house. My mom woke me up and turned on the TV. We watched the towers fall together. I thought of all of the women who had lost their husbands and had nothing to remember them by. I didn’t want that to happen to me.

By the following year I was pregnant with Julia. I stayed working and in school. I wanted to do it all even though I really just wanted to be a mom.

So here I am- 8 years later and 4 kids deep all on the verge of becoming 30. It’s strange because when I turned 25 I was horrified with where I was in life. I was a stay at home mom of almost 2 kids. I was almost finished with school and I wanted to get out there and teach kids stuff. Now I’m as happy and peaceful with my life. Sure it’s tough some days but the rewards are so much bigger.

jason and the girls

Maybe one day I’ll become someone else’s teacher but for now I’m the best teacher my children will ever have.

Maybe one day I’ll be a working woman.

But for now I’ll have to settle for:

mother, head chef, vaccuumer, laundry folder, boo boo fixer-uper, kiss givin’, tickle monster, taxi driver, homework checker, book reader, and probably 50 other things I can’t think of right now but I still have to get done before I pick someone up at school.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Chasing order… Chasing gratitude…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


