Chasing me…

August 30, 2009 at 7:23 pm 8 comments

I haven’t always had 4 kids but I really can’t remember life before them. I had time to do things but nothing that I can remember of any importance. I didn’t like to cook or clean or run back then so I really don’t know how I spent that time other than with my husband. But now that I’m older, more motherly, and at home full time I enjoy cleaning (well as much as anyone really can) and cooking. Running is more for me than anyone else. Everyone in the house benefits from a cooked meal or clean clothes. It’s hard for me to choose me sometimes and choose running.

I hate making up excuses for missing runs but as much as I love doing- my kids come first. I don’t mind missing it for them. I’ve taken them out for runs with me but trust me- taking 4 kids out to run with 2 in a stroller and 2 on bikes does not equal a quality run.

Today I snuck out to run for 2 hours 23 minutes and 24 seconds. It felt like a million years! I tried to put it out of my mind that I was alone. I focused on the run. The sooner I got 11 miles done the sooner I’d be home and back to my kiddos.

Just me. Just me for 2 hours 23 minutes and 24 seconds. Just me, my breath, and the concrete. The pain my hip subsided by the second mile. I was warmed up and ready to run. Since I was just randomly adding to my existing routes I had no clue where my mile markers were. I just knew that when I got home I’d be done. That was enough for me. I selfishly never stopped at home even though I needed something to drink. I knew if I stopped I may not get out.

So I ran all over my corner of the city.  Some streets I did twice and at least one half mile was repeated 3 or 4 times. It felt good to sweat in the cool crisp air. It felt like fall. Perfect running weather. Cool but not cold. I could feel my breath but not see it.

Hitting the pavement in front of my house was bittersweet. I was thankful my legs carried me for so long but saddened that my time alone just being me was over. I know that I may not get the chance to run alone for so long again until my half marathon. I truly savored the run.

I came in the house to the hustle and bustle of my life. Kids half dressed, toys all over the floor, and a husband happy to finally see me again. As I slip off my running shoes I slip back into mom mode. Hopefully next weekend I’ll get another Me date.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Chasing apron strings… Chasing order…

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  August 30, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    A two hour run!!! Way to go!!! PS–Love your apron Goddess pic….hope you win from Flirty Aprons!=)
    Thanks for coming by today.

    ~Sarah

    Reply
  • 2. Connie  |  September 3, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    I’ve been having a really hard time finding the time for my walks….and it’s making me mad.

    I love that feeling of just being me…and thinking.

    Reply
  • 3. La Jolla Mom  |  September 3, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    Wow, 11 miles – good for you! Thanks for stopping by on my SITS day!

    Reply
  • 4. Olga  |  September 5, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    HI.I can really relate to your blog. I am a runner too.I just stareted blogging and would love it you stopped by.I am also having my first ever givaway!

    Reply
  • 5. Honeysmoke  |  September 5, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    I can’t remember life before kids either. Good for you to take some real time for yourself.

    Reply
  • 6. Honeysmoke  |  September 5, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    Oh, I forgot. Happy SITS Saturday Sharefest”

    Reply
  • 7. R. Wallis @ True Beauty  |  September 5, 2009 at 11:18 pm

    I miss my running days…..I don’t have children, but I’m a wife, full time grad school student, and I run a Plastic Surgery Center. I know that’s no real excuse. Thanks for the motivation!
    Happy ShareFest!!

    Reply
  • 8. SparklyTiara  |  September 5, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    Speaking as someone who is violently “allergic” to running, you post is very nearly inspiring me to give it another go! I’m so impressed with the 11 miles – well done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


