Chasing the school bus

August 26, 2009 at 12:17 am 4 comments

Tomorrow is the first day of school for my oldest Julia. She will be entering 1st grade. I can’t believe she is 6.5 already. I can’t remember life without her though. It’s funny because she is all I have ever wanted. From as long as I can remember I had wanted a baby. I couldn’t wait to get married, buy a house, and have a baby of my own. I never really babysat as a teenager or anything but I was confident I would make a good mom. I suppose I did an alright job as she has made it to first grade.

Sometimes I feel bad for Julia. I know what it’s like being the oldest. Somedays it was great- especially when I got to do something before anyone else did! and some days it was awful- being expected to do good because you are older and you know better. But Julia has taken it all in stride. She loves helping out with Jason and tattling on her little sisters. She loves trying to make her own toast. She loves attempting to make everything in life fair.

In many ways Julia was also our “experiment”. We didn’t know how we were going to raise our child so when things came up like walking, talking, sleeping, or eating, we tried out what we thought was the best way of doing it. Then when we realized it didn’t work we had to tweak our ideas and hope something followed through. Julia was never a cranky baby and she grew up to be a very inquisitive toddler and then a mature first grader. With her sisters and her brother, life was a lot smoother because we figured it out by the time they came around!

So tomorrow I send my baby to first grade. Of course I’ll pretend not to cry and I’ll try to steal a hug before the bus gets there. I’ll try to remember how much fun she’ll have at school and how much she’ll learn but I know as much drama we had over the summer I know that I’m going to miss her.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Chasing fresh starts… Chasing apron strings…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  August 26, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    Stopping by from SITS. Have a great day..

    Great post… I will be the same way some day.

    Reply
  • 2. rose  |  August 27, 2009 at 8:29 am

    🙂

    My mom, who’s 91, mind you, still talks about my first day of Nursery school. Being an only child, my Aunt Mary thought the socialization would be good for me. My mom was sure that I would fuss and want to stay with her.

    She tells me that I walked up the steps to the front door, turned and waved to her and Mary, and walked right in.

    Of course, at pick-up, the teacher suggested that my mom dress me in play clothes, rather than the princess dress she had me in.

    I love that story. It’s very defining.

    May “your” first day of school make manifest even more to nurture your beautiful, loving relationship.

    Reply
  • 3. Julia  |  August 27, 2009 at 9:39 am

    Hi Nicole,
    I know how you feel. I just sent my son to kinder last week. It’s hard to believe they are no longer the baby you had only a few years ago. I keep saying to myself that you just cant stop them from growing up!!!

    BTW. You are featured today on The Apron Goddesses. 🙂 Thanks for your picture and story.

    Reply
  • 4. Eva Gallant  |  August 27, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    There’s something bittersweet about that first day of school.

    just stopping by from SITS to say hi; hope you’ll do the same.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


