Chasing dinner…

August 5, 2009 at 10:29 am Leave a comment

It’s been so long since my last post. This summer has been a rollercoaster of events.  Last week I had to help out a friend who had lost her baby to SIDS the week before. He was the same age as my niece. Then a few days later I got the word that one of my running buddies died of a heart attack. He was such a strong and loving guy. He ran multiple marathons this year and his heart was just too big. From these events to my parents accident, I am so ready for summer to be over and the structure of Fall to be here.

Since Stephanie’s birthday I’ve been in this housewife mode. I’ve been willing to try out new things and discover new tricks to making life simpler.

Here is what I’ve learned so far…

– Toothpaste is better and cheaper than a Magic Eraser. Just a little dab will get crayon, pencil, AND pen off of walls and furniture.

-The bottoms of green onions will just grow and grow in a glass of water. Cut off what you need and put it back and you’ll have green onions all of the time!

-Put your dishwasher on the fastest cycle and skip the drying part. It will save water, energy, and money. Dry them by hand!

-Learning how to make your own EVERYTHING is much more fun and tasty than anything store bought. This week I learned how to make my own ricotta cheese. Seriously now, how cool is that? Never again will I have to buy it! It’s so yummy and delish with honey.

Now as I’m sitting here, my brain is racing trying to figure out what’s for dinner. Last night I made Taco Soup and the husband was not so happy with soup on such a hot day. I thought it was good and shoot we had some left over so I got to freeze it for another day. Woot!

I’ve been scouring the internet and my cookbooks for something to make that sounds good and is healthy-ish. Right now my protein selections are lows but that’s okay. In these hard ecomonic times we can’t be picky but we can be creative!

It’s also Farmer’s Market Wednesday so hopefully the fresh fruits and veggies will make my brain spin.  I’m hoping for potatoes, apples, peaches, and corn. Maybe even some beets.

I’ve been watching the Next Food Network Star thinking to myself that I would be great at it if I could cook better. LOL I guess that is a requirement- being funny, charming, and cute as a button can only get you so far. And really now, as much as I’d rock at the Biggest Loser, do I really want to be on a show that is about being fat? Heck no! I don’t want to be the fat girl on tv.I want to be the healthy girl who loves to run, cook, and play with her kids.

I’m off to the farmer’s market and hoping to find inspiration in the form of a veggie!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Chasing clutter… Chasing babies…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


