Quotes from Randy

June 27, 2009 at 10:48 pm Leave a comment

Given an opportunity: a runner will put a run in without question; A jogger will debate until that time is gone”

Yesterday was a very hard day for me. I lost all motivation I had had to run. My body wanted to run. I could feel it in my legs. I could feel it in the way my feet ached for it. My brain did not want me to go.  I wasn’t putting off the run. I want it. I needed it. I just couldn’t do it. I felt like doing nothing. So that’s what I did.

Today started off about the same as yesterday. I wanted to do nothing but I couldn’t do that to myself again. I couldn’t waste my life or my legs like that. I was determined to get a good run in even if I had to take all 4 kids with me! And I did for the first mile. The husband was in tow to help out. It was a slow mile until there was a threat of rain. Whoo hoo! That meant I could break free.

By myself with my phone playing music in my pocket, I ran. I felt like I was flying. Maybe I was. Just like some people have ditched the scale, I try not to time myself unless I really have to. I found that timing myself sucked the fun right out of the run. I didn’t want that tonight. I wanted to truly feel my run.

I did. I felt that run. I felt it in my head, my legs, and my breathe. It didn’t feel labored or artificial like the treadmill does to me. It felt real and natural. I was conscious of how my legs were moving me. Nothing ached in a bad way. It ached like it had been missing it. My body missed the freedom of a good hard run.

Last last half mile was my test, I went out way faster than normal but not all out. Fast enough to have to only focus on the run but not fast enough to want to vomit.  Victorious and fresh again. I found my rhythm. I found myself.

So after thinking of Randy and his surfer wisdom, I feel like a runner again.

Entry filed under: Run.

Chasing goals Contest alert and Confession…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


