Chasing goals

June 23, 2009 at 10:27 am 2 comments

In January I decided to get off my butt and decided to train and finish a half marathon. I had 2 previous marathon attempts and 1 half marathon attempt under my belt. I was the classic trying too much too soon. I was less than a year into running when I thought about doing a marathon. I was doing well with the training until I had some issues with my IUD. Then I got planters facisitis in both feet so I had to cross train. I was in no shape for 26.2 miles. I then had my heart set on a half marathon. Then the issues with the IUD were over becauswe I got rid of it and BAM! I was pregnant with Jason. I tried to continue to train but at 16 weeks I was told to stop.

So in January I was thinking and thinking about how much I loved running and how much I missed it. We had just gotten back from Disney and I had met up with an imaginary internet friend named Becca. We almost went for a run but knowing that I’m super slow I opted out. I didn’t want to embarass myself. We opted for hanging out at Downtown Disney, mall shopping at some fancy mall, and then lunch at Greens and Grille Oh My Goodness! It was so delish!

While lunchin’, we talked about family, running, and everything else. She started to talk about how much she enjoyed coaching people. By the time I got back to cold Ohio I was thinking about this conversation. Soon enough I had emailed Becca and she became Coach Becca to me! Right away she helped me grow into a great runner. She got me happy, injury free, and ready for the Cincinatti Flying Pig half marathon. 13.1 miles of FUN (and pain!). Then somehow 2 weeks later I was doing the Cleveland Half Marathon. And I cut 10 minutes off of my time at the Pig!

Having a coach motivated me so much. It wasn’t just me I was disappointing if I didn’t run. It was my coach. That meant a lot to me. I found out a lot about myself during my training as well.  I realized what my goals were and what they weren’t. I learned about myself as a woman, a mother, and a wife.  I learned that I was worth that hour or so to myself 4 days a week.

Right now, my goal is to improve my 5k time. 5k’s are not my thing. It’s too fast and furious for me. I’m so stinkin slow but I’m working on that. My goal is to end the summer with a sub 30. During this time I’ll also be training for my 3rd half marathon- Akron September 26th.

A wise old Randy once said “A jogger finds time to run but a runner makes time to run.”

Today I start making time for me again.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Confession time- Coffee talk Quotes from Randy

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rose  |  June 23, 2009 at 11:17 am

    Good luck! Just found your blog and looking forward to reading. I especially love that quote at the end of your post. Sort of makes me feel like a jogger these days…

    Reply
  • 2. specialkphd  |  June 25, 2009 at 10:53 am

    What is the difference between running and jogging? I find that it is MY SPIRIT and intention behind the act. You are exactly where you need to be. Just the intention to grow is enough. Best!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


