Confession time- Coffee talk

June 22, 2009 at 3:24 am 1 comment

As I sit here nursing a baby, I feel like I need to confess my habit. I don’t smoke, or drink, or collect weird stuff. I drink coffee. When I say I drink coffee, I don’t mean just a little bit. I mean I drink coffee all of the time. Now I do drink a lot of water- hurray! However I love coffee. I get this nasty habit from my daddy.

When I was in high school I’d get up in the morning and make my daddy’s coffee. He likes it with lots of cream and lots of sugar. If it was carmel colored, it was right.  If I had to pick a habit to pick up from my dad I did make the right choice because my dad used to smoke 4-5 packs of cigarettes a day. He hasn’t smoked since the accident last week. HURRAY!

So back to me and the coffe. When I go out for coffee with my friends I don’t get that fancy schmancy stuff. I get coffee and it used to be lots of cream and lots of sugar. It’s not just because I’m cheap. It’s because I actually like to taste my coffee. Okay maybe not taste it since I’d put in so much stuff.

Recently I tried to cut out the sugar. I didn’t like it so much. Then I tried to cut out the cream. sigh It was still not right. Then I read about agave in my Clean Eating magazine. For anyone looking for great recipes that you will actually make and enjoy check out http://www.cleaneatingmag.com or pick it up at the bookstore. It’s honestly worth the money.

The agave was a little pricey at Trader Joe’s but I wanted to try it. It kind of looks like honey but it’s super sweet. It practically melts in coffee.  HURRAY! It’s perfect for at home coffee drinking. As for the cream, I’m still working on finding something to replace my cream or milk. I want something that is rich but better for me. As I’m working on my diet and my health I know eliminating animal products will help me reach my goal.  If you have a great cream replacement tell me about it!

In addition to just having a coffee habit, I have a habit of buying coffee. I know $2.10 does not seem like a lot but when you have 4 kids and a SAHM it’s your job to make the money you have go far.  Coffee in those little paper cups are just so tasty and so much better than I can make at home. Silly! I know!  Maybe it’s the tiny packets of Sugar in the Raw or the chilly cream. Or the freshness of the coffee. I just love my coffee when I’m out!

So to cut down on my coffee purchasing I’ve decided to treat myself once a week on Mondays to Caribou Coffee! On Mondays the coffee of the day is $1 for a medium! Hurray! To treat myself at home because coffee should always be available at work and I can’t help it that my bosses are 10 months, almost 3, 4, and 6 years old, I have bought Caribou Coffee beans for at home. Sure it’s a little pricery than regular old coffee at the store but it gives me that something extra to make it worth it. Sure it still doesn’t taste as good as at the Caribou Coffee but it’s still good.

So why am I confessing this sillyness to you? Honestly it’s because I know I need to cut back. I think summer time is the perfect time to do it. It’s hot out and the water consumption needs to increase.  My goal is to cut down to 1 to 2 cups a day and to not drink it after 2pm. After 2pm it’s water water water. Not only should this help me get healthy but it should help me to sleep more! Sleep is a precious precious gift around here. I need to enjoy this gift more!

As I sit here at 11pm drinking a cup of coffee, I pledge that tomorrow will be a day of water, water, water. No coffee for this girl! My body and my babies deserve it. Then hopefully tomorrow night, we will call enjoy some sleep!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Contest alert!!! WOOT! Chasing goals

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Genie  |  July 2, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    Nikki, have you tried fat free half and half for the creamer? I use it and it’s great–you get the same richness with no fat and it’s not as sugary as the flavored creamers.

    Great blog! Genie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


