Quick yummy recipes for families!

June 21, 2009 at 2:36 am Leave a comment

I haven’t always loved cooking. For the most part I kind of dreaded it. Now  that I’m working hard on my body to make it more efficient and more healthy, I’ve found that I love to cook. Cooking is more of an experiment. It doesn’t require precision like baking does. It requires thought, fun, and creativitiy.

Stephanie (my almost 3 year old) loves to watch cooking shows. Giada and Sandra Lee are her favorites. She just sits and sits and watches them cook. Making eggs is Stephanie’s favorite thing to make.  She’s a pretty good cook in the kitchen when I let her help!
Lately I’ve been having this craving for lentils. So I looked on food buzz and found a recipe for lentil soup. However I didn’t have everything it asked for. So I took the idea and created my own! Here’s my super simple lentil soup!

Lentil Soup

1/2 bag of lentils

3 cups of V-8 juice

1 onion

3 pieces of kale

1 can of tomatoes

Mix all ingrediants together in a saucepan or pot. Cook on medium heat for about 30 minutes. Add salt and pepper as desired.

Yummo! Super simple and super tastey!

Here’s my mom’s recipe for Slow Cooker Pork

2 diced onions

1 pork roast

3 carrots- chopped

4-5 red skinned potatoes- quartered

Marinade:

Mix together the following

1/2 brown sugar

3 tablespoons honey

2 tablespoons soy sauce

1 teaspoon lemon juice

Place onions in the bottom of the slow cooker.

Place pork roast, carrots, and potatoes on top of onions

Cover with marinade and cook on LOW for 10 hours

There you go! 2 of my favorite new recipes that have been a big hit in my house recently. Feel free to switch it, change it, and rearrage it! Make it your own.

Sitting down to a family dinner- no matter how big, small, or in between your family is- can be a great way to connect and talk with one another every day. We all are so busy day in and day out. Sometimes we forget how important it is to share our lives with each other. Consider making plans to eat together once a week. Think of topics to discuss besides the good old “how was your day?”

Here are something we have talked about at our dinner table:

If you had 3 wishes, what would they be?

What’s the best thing you’ve learned from your dad/mom?

What is your favorite family memory?

What flavor of ice cream should be invented?

If they were going to make a movie about our family, who would play you?

What are you thankful for?

So sometime this week, create a meal with your favorite little sous chef and sit down together to share the meal and the laughter at the dinner table. I promise you it will be worth the effort.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Life is too short Contest alert!!! WOOT!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


