Life is too short

June 20, 2009 at 7:01 am Leave a comment

This past Sunday started off very ordinary. We got up. We went to church- only a few minutes late. I got to sit through at least half of the liturgy because someone needed to nurse. We came home, grabbed some pizza, and headed to the park to meet up with my sister and her family.

About an hour into pizza eating and playing at the Dinosaur park my sister’s cell phone rings. It was my mom’s phone. We had just been talking about our parents and how they went on vacation for the weekend. They had just gotten home from the trip to Zanesville on their Harleys.

It wasn’t my mom calling.

It wasn’t my dad calling.

It was an EMS worker.  My parents were hit almost head on. My mother was in an ambluance. We didnt’ know where my dad was. We were told to get to the hosptial as fast as we could.

A million thoughts were going through my head. I’m the oldest. I wasn’t old enough to deal with this. I felt helpless.

I called a good friend of mine who happened to work at the hospital my mom was being transported to. She found out that my dad was being lifeflighted and was in critical condition. My mom was conscious but we didn’t know her injuries.  My heart just about broke and sank to the bottom of my stomach. I started begging and pleading with God. All of my prayers from before about the silly little things in my life meant nothing now. All of my energy was focused on how I needed my parents.

After 3 days in the hospital, my daddy came home. He’s sore and crabby but he hasn’t smoked since the accident. If you know my daddy, you know how HUGE this is for him. Mom is pretty banged up but she’s functional.  I’ve spent so much time this past week worrying, praying, taking care of them, and just remembering how much I love them.

This past week taught me about what is really important to me in my life. Sure I’m so very tired and my patience has been a little short this week but I would never trade my life for anything.

I learned that:

I love my parents so very very much and they’d better not scare me again like this!

The hugs, smiles, laughter, and breathe of my children can be enough to keep me going.

Running really is the best therapy for me. I can run happy, sad, angry, or confused and at the end of the run I know who I am.

I am beautiful. Not just physically but for all of the beautiful things I have created and cared for in my life.

I have learned that life is too short to worry about money, weight, beauty, and power.

Every moment is precious. Every moment is worth living. Do what makes you smile. Do what makes you happy.

And tell everyone you love them any chance you can.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Mommas get stressed out too! Quick yummy recipes for families!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


