Chasing praise…

April 14, 2011 at 9:57 pm 2 comments

We have been struggling for about a year now with our first son’s behavior. It’s been a year of climbing, running, dodging, and praying. He’s pulled his elbow out of the socket at least 3 times and has been to the ER twice. Some days I pray for nap time and then pray for good night time. I love that little guy but he just is too spunky for me! My girls were so laid back and would listen to me. They were capable of sitting for a few minutes and my little buddy won’t stop for anything but food! A few months back we contacted Help Me Grow about his speech and behavior issues. From different tests and multiple doctor appointment it was determined that he was unable to hear very well. He must have an ear infections that we were unaware of that never cleared up causing the hearing loss. About 2 weeks ago he had tubes put in and he has been communicating much more. He still is having some speech issues but it’s a great start! Now we are working with a school psychologist about his behavior. It’s been very hard on me because I feel like I have failed as a mother to keep him safe and to help him grow.

She told us that our assignment for the next 2 weeks was to praise each child every 15 minutes for a few days then go to longer gaps but to keep the praise up. The more praise the better! She said this will help all of the kids work hard for our good attention. Then we made Praise Books for each child to display to her/his friends and family. Every good deal deserves a sticker! The girls are very competitive so they ran around the house doing anything and everything to earn a sticker.

For bad behavior we are not to react to it. This is going to be hard for me. Somedays I’m good and I can ignore it and I blame myself for not putting whatever it was that got broken or ruined away. But some days I’m a ball full of emotions from crying to screaming. That breaks me down so much. I am so tired at the end of the day from all of it.

But today is a new day. I am armed with Praise books for the kids and a new book for me- A Mother’s Rule. With both of those in my back pocket I am hoping the next two weeks create a happier mommy and a well behaving little buddy.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Chasing super mom… Chasing a new washer…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mindy Wahl  |  April 15, 2011 at 8:23 am

    Boys are a lot of energy and work! Hang in there!

    Reply
  • 2. Kimberly Sparks  |  April 15, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    I pray everyday (numerous times) for patience. I need to praise my daughter more… Thanks for the post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

